Understanding concealed carry reciprocity is a crucial aspect of being a responsible gun owner. Not only are you expected to know your state’s gun laws, but you need to understand that the rules for carrying a concealed handgun change depending on what state you are in. For example, in Colorado, residents of the state are allowed to carry concealed weapons (CCW) as long as they are CCW permit holders. But how might your CCW be affected if you visit another state? This is where concealed carry reciprocity comes into play. If you haven’t heard of this term, you may be asking yourself, “what is concealed carry reciprocity?”
At Colorado Handgun Safety, we are on a mission to educate gun owners on the most up-to-date laws and shooting techniques. As a firearm training company, we take pride in providing a non-judgmental learning environment for shooters of any skill level. Our certified instructors have worked with countless shooters over the years to develop their skills and confidence. When working with Colorado Handgun Safety, we give you the highest quality education about CCW permits and teach you the safest shooting tactics so you can become the most responsible gun owner possible.
What is Concealed Carry Reciprocity?
Concealed carry reciprocity means that your concealed handgun permit is legal beyond the issuing state. The idea behind this is that states share, or reciprocate, the right for individuals to conceal carry.
For example, Colorado shares reciprocity with 33 other states. Therefore, if an individual from another state that shares reciprocity with Colorado has a valid conceal carry permit, they can legally carry a concealed handgun in Colorado according to Colorado law. The same is true for any Colorado resident with a valid CCW permit. If a resident from Colorado visits a state that shares reciprocity with Colorado, they can also legally carry a concealed weapon in that state.
As long as an individual has a valid CCW permit and is in a state that shares reciprocity with the issuing state, they can lawfully carry a concealed handgun. However, it is extremely important to note that while you are allowed to concealed carry, you must follow the laws of the state in which you are in. This may vary from state to state.
Plus, if you are in a state that does not share concealed carry reciprocity, you may not be legally allowed to conceal carry a weapon. Therefore, it is crucial to know the concealed carry laws of the state that you are visiting.
Colorado Concealed Carry Reciprocity
In the state of Colorado, concealed carry permits are issued to residents by local sheriff’s offices as long as they meet the basic requirements of the permit. For example, you must be at least 21 years of age and not prohibited from owning a firearm to conceal carry.
It is lawful for residents to conceal carry as long as they have a valid CCW permit. Also, Colorado will only issue concealed carry permits to non-residents if they are members of the military service or their immediate families.
To obtain a CCW permit in Colorado, you must pass a state-recognized CCW training course. Once you have completed the course, you will be able to apply for a concealed carry permit in Colorado. You will need to show your CCW training certification, your state ID, a photo taken within the last 30 days, and proof of residency. You will also be fingerprinted.
According to the U.S. Concealed Carry Association (USCCA), Colorado will only recognize a CCW permit issued by another state if:
- The issuing state honors a Colorado CCW permit.
- The permit holder is a resident of the issuing state.
- The permit holder has a matching state ID from the issuing state.
- The permit holder is 21 years old or older.
- The permit holder has a valid CCW permit.
What States Have Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Colorado?
Colorado shares concealed carry reciprocity with 33 other states. Remember that CCW permit holders must follow the laws of the state in which they are concealed carrying a weapon, even if Colorado is the issuing state. According to USCCA, the states that honor reciprocity with Colorado includes:
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Pass Your Colorado CCW Class With Colorado Handgun Safety
Understanding concealed carry reciprocity is important to becoming an educated gun owner. If you are traveling between states and have a CCW permit, you need to know if you are legally allowed to conceal carry. In Colorado, for example, 33 states share reciprocity with the state. However, you need to also know how concealed carry laws change from state to state. Before traveling with a concealed weapon, it is necessary to understand what states have concealed carry reciprocity with your issuing state and how concealed carry laws may differ. Educating yourself is just one part of being a responsible handgun owner.
At Colorado Handgun Safety, we are Colorado’s premier firearm training center. Our concealed carry permit class is your first step in getting a valid CCW permit. Our CCW class will teach you everything you need to know to become a responsible gun owner. Learn handgun safety, pistol techniques, and the different ways of concealed carrying. Once you have completed your class with Colorado Handgun Safety, you will be one step closer to obtaining your CCW permit. If you have any questions about concealed carry reciprocity, or if you want to sign up for a CCW class, contact Colorado Handgun Safety!