Denver

Colorado Springs

Fort Collins

Bill Peterson

Bill Peterson

Since 2006, I've instructed classes for shooters of all levels on proper gun handling, safety, storage, and marksmanship techniques.

Colorado Concealed Carry Reciprocity

In terms of carrying a concealed handgun, reciprocity means that concealed weapons permits from certain states are honored by other states. For example, Colorado has reciprocity with 33 states, so if a resident from one of those 33 states has a valid concealed weapons permit, they can legally carry a concealed weapon in Colorado. Likewise, a Coloradoan with a valid CCW permit can lawfully carry a concealed weapon in any of the 33 states. 

At Colorado Handgun Safety, we provide you with the resources you need to be a responsible, knowledgeable gun owner. In addition, we want to make sure you’re aware of Colorado gun laws and how gun laws in other states affect you. Want to know where your Colorado CCW permit is valid? Keep on reading to find out!

The graphic shows a pamphlet on firearm safety, a gun, a social security guard, a paper filled with fingerprints, and a CCW permit all lying on a table.

Which States Have Reciprocity With Colorado? 

According to the U.S. Concealed Carry Association, Colorado has reciprocity with the following states:

  1. Alabama – at least 21 years old
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  4. Arkansas – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  5. Delaware – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  6. Florida –  handguns only and resident permits only
  7. Georgia – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  8. Idaho – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  9. Indiana – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  10. Iowa – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  11. Kansas – resident permits only
  12. Kentucky- resident permits only
  13. Louisiana – resident permits only
  14. Michigan- resident permits only
  15. Mississippi – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  16. Missouri – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  17. Montana – at least 21 years old
  18. Nebraska – resident permits only
  19. New Hampshire – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  20. New Mexico – resident permits only
  21. North Carolina – resident permits only
  22. North Dakota – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  23. Ohio – resident permits only
  24. Oklahoma – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  25. Pennsylvania – resident permits only
  26. South Dakota – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  27. Tennessee – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  28. Texas – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  29. Utah – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  30. Virginia – resident permits only
  31. West Virginia – at least 21 years old and resident permits only
  32. Wisconsin – resident permits only
  33. Wyoming – at least 21 years old

Colorado CCW Requirements

To obtain a CCW permit, you need to know the requirements. To apply for a CCW permit, you must meet the following criteria.

  • Must be at least 21 years of age. (In certain emergency situations, being at least 18 will suffice.)
  • You are a Colorado resident, own real estate in Colorado, own a business in Colorado, or are stationed in Colorado.
  • Able to lawfully possess a firearm under Colorado and federal law.
  • You don’t have a perjury conviction.
  • You do not chronically or habitually use alcohol to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired.
  • You’re not an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance defined by Colorado and federal law, including marijuana. 
  • There is no temporary protection order or restraining order against you.
  • You are not the subject of a permanent protection order.

To obtain a CCW permit, you must also show proof of competence with a handgun. You can provide evidence of competence in several ways, including:

  1. Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service.
  2. At the time you submit your CCW application, you are a certified instructor.
  3. You were honorably discharged no more than three years before application submission.
  4. You were honorably discharged and can reflect pistol qualifications obtained no more than 10 years before application submission.
  5. You have a certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency, and it reflects pistol qualifications obtained no more than 10 years before submitting the CCW application.
  6. You have a certificate showing completion of a handgun training class. The certificate was obtained no more than 10 years preceding the submittal of the application. You must submit the original certificate or a photocopy of the original, and it must have the instructor’s signature on it.

Colorado Concealed Carry Laws

Even if you get a concealed carry weapons permit, you still need to follow specific laws. These laws help protect you and others. 

  1. You may not carry a concealed weapon in public schools, public buildings, and anywhere banned by federal law. 
  2. If a law enforcement officer asks for your ID and CCW permit, you need to provide them with documentation. Failing to have or show these items can result in a class 1 petty offense, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $500.

The image shows a man with a holster on his belt holding a handgun.

Learn About Colorado’s Gun Laws With Colorado Handgun Safety

To become the most responsible gun owner you can be, you must understand Colorado gun laws. To help you understand these laws and how they affect you, such as whether or not your CCW permit is valid in other states, we write these blogs to help walk you through the details of various handgun laws. If there are any laws that you’re confused by or want further clarification on, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us and let us know!

Reserve Your Class Today