Colorado Handgun Safety is the premier destination for individuals of all levels who want to expand their gun expertise. From NRA instructor courses to first-time handgun owner education, our team of experts offers everything you need to become a confident, knowledgeable gun owner. One of the main pillars of our firearms training center is education. We believe in providing the tools and resources you need to help you understand all aspects of owning a gun. Whether you want to learn how to properly clean your gun, or you’re interested in learning what you should do if you’re pulled over while carrying a concealed handgun, our team is here to teach you everything you need to know about owning a gun.
What Is A Warning Shot?
Warning shots are when a person intentionally fires their handgun away from their target. People use warning shots to see if it’s possible to instigate compliance without firing at the person directly. Police and military often use warning shots to fulfill the desired end goal without having to cause harm to a perpetrator.
Are Warning Shots Legal In Colorado?
Part of your responsibility as a gun owner is to thoroughly understand different gun laws. One law that is critical to knowing as a gun owner in the state of Colorado is that it is illegal to fire warning shots. In 1985, a law was passed called the “Make My Day” law. This law allows homeowners to legally fire their firearms at an intruder if they believe they are or will be harmed. Basically, law enforcement believes it’s safer to aim and shoot than shoot randomly with the hopes of scaring someone. So, while warning shots are illegal in Colorado, if you believe you’re in danger, you are allowed to shoot at an intruder or other unwanted individual in your home.
What Are The Consequences For Firing A Warning Shot?
In Colorado, if you illegally discharge your firearm, you will most likely be facing serious consequences. Illegally discharging your firearm involves an individual firing into a home, vehicle or any occupied structure. If you fire a warning shot, authorities have the right to view the incident as you illegally discharging your firearm. Some of the consequences of being found guilty of illegally discharging your firearm, a class 5 felony, include:
- Up to three years in prison
- Privilege to own a firearm is revoked
- Fines ranging from $1,000 to $100,000
Receive Premier Gun Education At Colorado Handgun Safety
At Colorado Handgun Safety, we believe an essential part of being a responsible gun owner is receiving proper gun education. Our team of experts is passionate about passing on their knowledge to gun owners of all levels. Educated gun owners means a safer community, and we believe in doing our part to help make the Colorado Springs community as safe as possible. If you’re interested in attending one of our classes and learning at the best firearms training center on the Front Range of Colorado, then contact our team today!